تحت رعاية
سمو الشيخ مكتوم بن محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم

نائب حاكم دبي ورئيس مجلس دبي القضائي

 

العدالة الإلكترونية

فرص جديدة لمأموري الضبط القضائي

الموعد 22-25 نوفمبر 2021

 
 

للتسجيل المبكر

لا تضيع الفرصة!

 
 

زيارة دبي

خطط رحلتك إلى مدينة تنبض بالحياة

أهلاً بكم في مؤتمر الإتحاد الدولي لمأموري الضبط القضائي 2021

الإتحاد الدولي لمأموري الضبط القضائي هو منظمة دولية غير حكومية تأسست لتعزيز وتنسيق وتطوير نشاط مأموري الضبط القضائي على الصعيد الدولي من أجل حماية الكرامة والإستقلالية ونحو توفير خدمة أفضل للأفراد وللمجتمع المحلي، ويتم هذا من خلال التعاون الوثيق بين المنظمات المهنية الممثلة على الصعيد الوطني.

يضم الإتحاد 93 عضواً أو عضو منتسب (من خلال إتفاقيات التعاون)   والمنظمات الأعضاء في الإتحاد الدولي لمأموري الضبط القضائي من 90 دولة.

يتعاون الإتحاد بنشاط مع المنظمات التالية: الأمم المتحدة ولجنة الأمم المتحدة للقانون التجاري الدولي ومؤتمر لاهاي للقانون الدولي الخاص والبنك الدولي وصندوق النقد الدولي ووكالة التنمية الدولية التابعة للولايات المتحدة ومجلس أوروبا واللجنة الأوروبية لكفاءة العدالة والإتحاد الأوروبي والمصرف الأوروبي للإنشاء والتعمير ومنظمة إيلاي ومنظمة التنسيق في أفريقيا الفرنسية والكلية الإقليمية العليا للقضاء والإتحاد النقدي والإقتصادي لمنطقة غرب أفريقيا ورابطة دول جنوب شرق آسيا المعروفة إختصاراً بإسم منظمة آسيان.

من الضروري في عالم يهيمن عليه الإقتصاد أن يقوم أصحاب المهن القانونية بدورهم في تعزيز مكانة القانون وهيبته.
فيما يتعلق بقانون تنفيذ الأحكام، يوفر الإتحاد خبراته ونفوذه لضمان التنفيذ الفعال للقرارات القانونية، متى ما أمكن ذلك.
كما أن الإتحاد الدولي لمأموري الضبط القضائي في صميم العدالة الإلكترونية عبر تقديم مأموري الضبط القضائي كطرف ثالث موثوق ومسؤول عن هذا النشاط الأساسي.
على المستوى العلمي، لدى الإتحاد الدولي لمأموري الضبط القضائي مجلس علمي يتكون من 12 أستاذ جامعي من أربع قارات، ووقع الإتحاد إتفاقيات تعاون مع عدة جامعات حول العالم.
نشر الإتحاد الدولي لمأموري الضبط القضائي في العام 2015 القانون الدولي لتنفيذ الأحكام.
وينظم الإتحاد الدولي لمأموري الضبط القضائي كل ثلاث سنوات المؤتمر الدولي لمأموري الضبط القضائي، وهو حدث علمي فريد، وفرصة عظيمة لتطوير مهنة مأموري الضبط القضائي.
يشكل مؤتمر الإتحاد الدولي لمأموري الضبط القضائي منبر فريد لتبادل الأفكار بين موظفي الضبط القضائي من جميع أنحاء العالم والمنظمات الكبيرة حيث يجتمعون لطرح أفكارهم للعمل معاً على تطوير عمل العدالة.

وقد برزت العديد من الأفكار والتطورات الهامة في مهنة الموظف القضائي خلال المؤتمرات الدولية للإتحاد الدولي لمأموري الضبط القضائي التالية:

  • ضمان العدالة الآمنة والمستدامة – مأمور الضبط القضائي عنصر أساسي في الحكم الرشيد (بانكوك 2018)
  • مأمور الضبط القضائي: الرابط بين القانون والإقتصاد، نهج جديد في تنفيذ الأحكام – عرض للقانون الدولي للتنفيذ (مدريد 2015)
  • مأموري الضبط القضائي في القرن الحادي والعشرون (كيب تاون 2012)
  • مأموري الضبط القضائي في القانون والدولة والعالم (مارسيل 2009)
  • تنسيق إجراءات تنفيذ الأحكام في بيئة عدالة بلا حدود (واشنطن 2006)
  • عولمة القانون في بيئة العدالة الدولية (تونس 2003)

 

ينعقد في الفترة من 22 إلى 25 نوفمبر 2021، مؤتمر الإتحاد الدولي لمأموري الضبط القضائي الـ 24 في دبي تحت عنوان “العدالة الإلكترونية: فرص جديدة لمأموري الضبط القضائي”.
بهذه المناسبة، سيكشف الإتحاد الدولي لمأموري الضبط القضائي عن عمله المتعلق بإنشاء القانون الدولي لتنفيذ الأحكام الرقمي.
المشاركة في أعمال المؤتمر مفتوحة للجميع ونتوقع الكثير من المشاركين في دبي!
يتوفر في هذا الموقع جميع المعلومات حول المؤتمر الدولي الرابع والعشرين.

محاكم دبي

تحرص محاكم دبي على تحقيق العدالة في إمارة دبي وعلى إعطاء كل شخص حقه القانوني، وضمان العيش السلمي للمقيمين في دبي مع التمتع بالعدالة والمساواة والحقوق والحريات والإستفادة من تساوي الفرص.
يتكون النظام القضائي بمحاكم دبي من ثلاث درجات تتمثل في: المحكمة الإبتدائية كأولى درجات التقاضي، ومحكمة الإستئناف كدرجة ثانية، ومحكمة النقض كدرجة ثالثة وهي أعلى درجات التقاضي.

تمكنت محاكم دبي من مواكبة التطور التكنولوجي الذي يشهده العالم،كما تمكنت من تحقيق رؤية القيادة العليا للتحول إلى الحكومة الذكية، وحيث تتوفر الأن معظم خدمات المحكمة بشكل إلكتروني، وعليه يمكن للمتعامل الحصول على الخدمات المطلوبة من خلال جهاز هاتفه المحمول دون تكلف عناء الحضور إلى مقر محاكم دبي.

تقدم محاكم دبي عدداً من الخدمات، بما في ذلك التقاضي في القضايا المدنية والعمالية والأحوال الشخصية والمحاكم الإبتدائية والمحاكم الجنائية والإستئناف والنقض، فضلاً عن خدمات التوثيق القانوني والمدني، وتنفيذ الأحكام والأوامر والإنابات وتنظيم وإعتماد المحامين للمثول أمام المحكمة.

كلمة الترحيب

سعادة
طارش عيد المنصوري

المدير العام لمحاكم دبي

يسعدني أن أرحب بكم في المنصة الرقمية لــ ” مؤتمر الاتحاد الدولي لمأموري الضبط القضائي- دبي” المتخصص في تنفيذ الأحكام القضائية والذي يستضيف ممثلين من أكثر من إحدى وسبعين دولة ومدينة على مستوى العالم من المهتمين بأعمال تنفيذ الأحكام عن طريق القطاع الخاص والمهن الحرة، وذلك بالشراكة بين محاكم دبي والاتحاد الدولي لمأموري الضبط القضائي.

يأتي المؤتمر تماشياً مع توجهات محاكم دبي في تطوير التعاون مع المنظمات ذات العلاقة لتقديم خدمات قضائية رائدة ومتميزة عالمياً.

وإنه من دواعي سروري أن أرحب مجدداً بجميع المهتمين بمجالات العدالة والقضاء وتنفيذ الأحكام، من العديد من الدول دائمة العضوية في الإتحاد الدولي لمأموري الضبط القضائي والتي تضم 93 دولة كاملة العضوية مع 6 دول أعضاء مراقبين.

وأننا نفخر جميعنا على المستويين الرسمي والشعبي بإحتضان هذا التجمع في مدينة دبي لأول مرة على مستوى الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا.

مثمنين ثقة مجلس الإدارة وأعضاء الإتحاد الدولي لمأموري الضبط القضائي بقدرات محاكم دبي على إستضافة هذا الحدث الهام دولياً، والمزمع إنعقاده خلال الفترة من 22 إلى 25 نوفمبر من العام 2021، والذي من خلاله سنفتتح طريقاً سريعاُ لمستقبل يحفل بالفرص.

المستقبل يعتمد على المعرفة لدفع عجلة التطور في قطاع تنفيذ الأحكام ودعم المؤسسات القضائية، آملاً أن نتمكن من إيجاد وسائل جديدة ليصبح عالمنا هذا أفضلَ وأكثرَ عدلاً وترابطاً وأن نقدم لأفراد مجتمعاتنا كل ما يمكن أن يحمله المستقبل لهم من آمال وطموحات تساهم في حفظ حقوقهم وتنمية إيمانهم بالعدالة.

أتمنى للجميع النجاح والتوفيق في أعمال هذا المؤتمر الذي نرجو أن تسمو قراراته وتوصياته إلى حجم المسؤولية الكبيرة الملقاة على عاتقنا جميعاً من أجل تعزيز الأفكار والمشاريع والمبادرات التي تساعد على المضي قدمًا نحو عالم أكثرَ عدالة.

مارك شميتز

رئيس الإتحاد الدولي لمأموري الضبط القضائي

دبي بإنتظاركم!

 

مؤتمر الإتحاد الدولي لمأموري الضبط القضائي الـ 24 على وشك البدأ.

حيث كان من المخطط أن يبدأ المؤتمر في مارس 2021 ولكن تم إعادة جدولته ليبدأ في نوفمبر 2021، ويتطلع الإتحاد الدولي لمأموري الضبط القضائي بكل أمل وتفائل لتجسيد المؤتمر الدولي.
يشكل الحدث الذي يعقد كل ثلاثة أعوام إضاءة في الحياة المهنية لمأموري الضبط القضائي ومن المزمع عقده في دبي.

وإن الإتحاد الدولي لمأموري الضبط القضائي ممتن للغاية على الشراكة الناجحة مع محاكم دبي التي ضمنت سلاسة التنظيم وراحة الإقامة لكافة المشاركين.
ويحدد عنوان المؤتمر “العدالة الإلكترونية: فرص جديدة لمأموري الضبط القضائي” بوضوح التوقعات في المهنة.

حيث تحول العالم بسرعة الضوء ليصبح عالم رقمي، بل إن جائحة “كوفيد-19” الحالية سرعت من تلك العملية. لذا على مأموري الضبط القضائي النظر في التطور الرقمي الحاصل في مجال القضاء، ليس فقط كتحدٍ ولكن كفرصة! فرصة لإعادة إكتشاف قدراتهم!
وسيصبح التنفيذ الرقمي وتنفيذ الأصول الرقمية ممارسة شائعة في المستقبل القريب، ولكن حتى الآن ماتزال التشريعات لا تواكب التطور التقني!

توجد متطلبات لإدخال قواعد بشأن التنفيذ الرقمي للأحكام وتنفيذ الأصول الرقمية، ويجب أن تتناسق هذه القواعد منذ البداية على المستوى العالمي، حيث أن الحلول على المستوى المحلي لن تكون كافية لأن العالم الرقمي يتجاوز الحدود، ولهذا السبب، فإن النظر في التنسيق على مستوى القارة وحتى العالمية أمر بالغ الأهمية.
يمكن لحدث مثل مؤتمر الإتحاد الدولي لمأموري الضبط القضائي الـ 24 لعب دور مركزي في هذا التطور وأن يولد المزيد من الإهتمامات، و يمكن للإتحاد الدولي لمأموري الضبط القضائي أن يصبح أحد الرواد وأن يضطلع بدور رائد من خلال صياغة الأوراق وتقديم التوصيات في مجال التنفيذ الرقمي للأحكام.
إن تقديم قانون عالمي لتنفيذ الأحكام رقمياً خلال المؤتمر الدولي الرابع والعشرين للإتحاد الدولي لمأموري الضبط القضائي في دبي يعتبر علامة فارقة في تاريخه، وستكون هذه فرصة للإتحاد الدولي لمأموري الضبط القضائي لتمييز نفسه وتوفير الإلهام لوضع تشريعات وطنية في مجال التنفيذ الرقمي للأحكام، والتي ستكون منسقة منذ البداية على المستوى العالمي.

تحت إشراف المقرر العام للمؤتمر السيد/ديفيد ووكر سوف يسهم العديد من أعضاء الفرق والخبراء في إنجاح هذا الحدث خلال برنامج علمي يحقق حتى أعلى التوقعات.
وأتطلع قدماً للترحيب بكم في دبي بشهر نوفمبر.

دبي بإنتظاركم…

مارك شميتز
رئيس الإتحاد الدولي لمأموري الضبط القضائي

ديفيد والكر

المقرر العام للمؤتمر

إنها فرصة رائعة وإمتياز أن يتم تعييني مقرر عام للمؤتمر الدولي الرابع والعشرين للإتحاد الدولي لمأموري الضبط القضائي. حيث عملت بالسابق كمأمور قضائي وكنت أمارس الأعمال الخاصة في إسكوتلندا طوال فترة حياتي، رأيت خلالها مهنتنا تتعرض للعديد من التحديات، سواء كانت مشاكل إجتماعية محلية أو قضايا تشريعية أو سياسية. وما وجدته لافت للنظر، من خلال ارتباطي الطويل بالإتحاد، هو أنني لم أكن قط وحيداً، والمشاكل التي واجهتها كانت مماثلة إن لم تكن مطابقة لمشاكل زملائي من جميع أنحاء العالم. لقد وجدت بإستمرار أن أخوتنا العالمية مصدر إلهام ودافع حقيقي للنجاح في حياتي المهنية والخاصة.
ولذلك، فإنه من دواعي سروري وترحيبي أن أعمل مع الرئيس مارك شميتز، وشركائنا في محاكم دبي وبقية فريق تنظيم المؤتمر، من أجل عقد مؤتمر دولي متميز، وبصفتي المقرر العام فإن من واجبي أن أضمن لكم مكاناً عالمياً، وبرنامج علمي رائع وملائم، وبالطبع فرصة إجتماعية وتواصلية رائعة.

في المقام الأول، أصبح عملي سهل جداً بفضل زملائنا في محاكم دبي، والذين رحبوا بنا في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وتحديداً في مدينة دبي التي هي ببساطة واحدة من أكثر الأماكن ديناميكية ومن السهل الوصول إليها دولياً لإستضافة مثل هذا الحدث. إن تزامن مؤتمرنا مع معرض إكسبو دبي العالمي، يخلق فرصة مثالية لزيارة هذه المدينة المثيرة والمتنوعة، حيث يتكامل فن العمارة الحديثة مع الثقافة العربية الغنية والتاريخية.

من حيث تقديم برنامج علمي رائع ومميز مرة أخرى، فلن تخيب أمالكم. شعار المؤتمر هو:

العدالة الإلكترونية، فرص جديدة لمأموري الضبط القضائي…

وفي إطار هذا الشعار، نستعرض كيف إستجابت مهنتنا لوباء “كوفيد19” العالمي، من خلال تسليط الضوء على أفضل الممارسات المبتكرة وكيف دعمنا العدالة المنصفة والفعالة خلال هذه الأزمة الدولية الغير مسبوقة.
ندرك بالفعل أن أنظمة العدالة المدنية والجنائية قد أجبرت في العديد من الولايات القضائية على التصرف من خلال تسريع برامجها للتحول الرقمي. وقد شهدنا تشريعات طارئة لتمكين الإتصال عبر الإنترنت بشكل أكثر فعالية بين المحاكم وأصحاب المصلحة، كما شهدنا ثورة في العمل من المنزل، ومن غير المرجح أن تتراجع بعد عودة العالم إلى الوضع الطبيعي الجديد.
كما سنركز أيضاً على أثر التكنولوجيا الجديدة والذكية والتي تتطور بسرعة بحيث يتم التخلي عن الأنظمة القانونية المحلية وبشكل خاص فيما يتصل بالمطالبات من وراء الحدود والطبيعة الغير مرئية للأصول الرقمية.

سنتعرف في المؤتمر على كيفية تصرف مأموري الضبط القضائي عبر فهم التكنولوجيا الجديدة مثل بلوك شين والعملة الرقمية والتكنولوجيات الأخرى.
نقوم بعدها بالتعرف والعودة إلى الجانب الإنساني في تنفيذ الأحكام بالمستقبل، من خلال تحديد المهارات والصفات الرئيسية لمأمور الضبط القضائي الحديث، وتذكر أن أنظمة تكنولوجيا المعلومات المتطورة سوف تلعب دورا هاماً عبر إزالة العمليات البسيطة والمتكررة وإتخاذ القرارات. وفي مرحلة ما، سوف نحتاج إلى خبير تقني لديه معايير مهنية، وتعاطف إنساني، وتصميم حقيقي، لضمان تنفيذ الأحكام القضائية على النحو المناسب.
هذا المزيج من العناصر العملية والمستقبلية والبشرية، سوف يقدم برنامج علمي متنوع ورائع، ويساعدك على فهم التحديات المستقبلية والإستعداد لها بشكل أفضل، بغض النظر عن موقعك أو الوظيفة أو بيئة العمل.

وأخيرا وليس آخراً، سنقدم تجربة ثقافية وإجتماعية لا تنسى. حيث وضعت دبي نفسها الآن كقوة عظمى في مجال السياحة حول العالم، وخيارات الترفيه فيها تحبس الأنفاس، وسوف نضمن أن يوفر مؤتمرنا فرصة مثالية لتجربة العديد من الفرص الترفيهية المثيرة في دبي، بما في ذلك حفلة ترحيب مذهلة وحفل عشاء.

ونتطلع إلى نوفمبر بكل ثقة أملين أن يكون كابوس “كوفيد” قد إنتهى وأصبح من الماضي. بعد عام من عدم اليقين والعزلة وفرض القيود على السفر الدولي، حان الوقت الآن للتطلع إلى الأمام بشعور يملئه الأمل والتفاؤل. ما من طريقة أفضل لإنهاء هذه الإجازة الغير مرغوب فيها إلا من خلال الإجتماع في هذا المنتدى العالمي الفريد.
وأنني أتطلع قدماً بالنيابة عن أعضاء فريق الإتحاد الدولي لمأموري الضبط القضائي للترحيب بكم في دبي وأنني متأكد أنه سيكون حدث دولي وعلمي وثقافي مميز.

UNDER THE HIGH PATRONAGE OF
HIS HIGHNESS SHEIKH MAKTOUM BIN MOHAMMED BIN RASHID AL MAKTOUM

Deputy Ruler of Dubai and Chairman of Dubai Judicial Council

 

CYBER JUSTICE

New opportunities for the judicial officer

22-25 November 2021 - Dubai

 
 

EARLY BIRD

Don't miss the chance! Registration is open now.

 
 

Visit Dubai

PLAN YOUR TRAVEL TO A VIBRANT CITY

Welcome to the UIHJ 2021 Dubai International Congress

The International Union of Judicial Officers (UIHJ) is an international non-governmental organisation incorporated to promote, co-ordinate and develop the activity of the judicial officers internationally in order to safeguard, through closer co-operation between the representative professional organisations on a national level, the dignity and independence towards a better service to persons and to the community.

There are 93 member or associated member (by co-operation agreements) organisations of the UIHJ, from 90 countries.

The UIHJ actively collaborates with UN and Uncitral, The Hague Conference on Private International Law, the World Bank, IMF, USAID, the Council of Europe and the CEPEJ, the European Union, EBRD, ELI, Ohada and Ersuma, Waemu, and Asean.

In a world dominated by the economy, it is essential for legal professionals to fulfil their role by reinforcing the status and prestige of the law.

In respect of enforcement law, the UIHJ uses its experience and influence to ensure the efficient enforcement of legal decisions, wherever possible.

The UIHJ is also at the core of e-Justice by presenting the judicial officer as an influential, trusted third party, responsible for this core activity.

On the scientific level, the UIHJ has a Scientific Council made up of 12 university professors from four continents and has signed cooperation agreements with several universities worldwide.

The UIHJ published in 2015 the Global Code of Enforcement.

Every three years, the UIHJ organises the international congress of judicial officers, a unique scientific event, and a great opportunity for contacts for the profession of judicial officer.

The international congress of the UIHJ constitutes a unique platform for exchanges to which judicial officers from all over the world and large organisations bring their thoughts to work together for the development of the work of justice.

Many reflections and significant advances for the profession of judicial officer have emerged from the international congresses of the UIHJ:

  • Guaranteeing Secure and Sustainable Justice – The Judicial Officer, an Essential Element of Good Governance (Bangkok 2018)
  • The Judicial Officer: Link between Law and economy, a New Approach to Enforcement – presentation of the Global Code of Enforcement (Madrid 2015)
  • The Judicial Officer of the 21st Century (Cape Town 2012)
  • The Judicial Officer in the Law, in the State, in the World (Marseille 2009)
  • The harmonization of enforcement procedures in an area of justice without borders (Washington 2006)
  • The globalization of law in an area of universal justice (Tunis 2003)

From 22 to 25 November 2021, the 24th International Congress of Judicial Officers will be held in Dubai on the theme of “Cyberjustice: New opportunities for the judicial officer“.

On this occasion, the UIHJ will unveil its work relating to the creation of the Global Code of Digital Enforcement.

Participation in the work of the congress is open to all and we are expecting many of you in Dubai!

You will find all the information about our 24th International congress on this site.

DUBAI COURTS

Dubai Courts are keen to achieve justice in the Emirate of Dubai and give everyone his legal right, and ensure a peaceful living-hood for those who are living in Dubai to enjoy justice, equality, with preservation of rights, freedom as well as to avail equal opportunities.

The Courts has three categories: The First Instance Court, which is the first degree of litigation, the Appeal Court, the second degree of litigation, and the Court of Cassation, which is the highest level of litigation.

Dubai Courts have been able to keep up with the technological development-taking place in the world, as well as to realize the vision of Higher Command to transform to smart government, whereas most of the Court’s services are available electronically. Thus, the client can get the desired services through his mobile device without bothering to come to the headquarters of Dubai courts.

Dubai Courts provide a number of services, including litigation on Civil, Labor, Personal Status, first instance, Criminal Courts, Appeal, and Cassation, as well as legal and civil documentation services, enforcement of judgments, orders, and deputation, and the organization and accreditation of lawyers to appear before the Court.

Welcome message

His Excellency
Taresh Eid Al Mansouri

Director-General of Dubai Courts

It is my pleasure to welcome you through this digital platform of the International Congress of the UIHJ which is scheduled to be held in Dubai. The Congress focuses on executing judicial judgments and hosts Representatives of seventy one countries and cities. The participants are from private and self-employment sector who are interested in executing judgments. The Congress will be held in partnership between Dubai Courts and the International Union of Judicial Officers.

The Congress is in line with Dubai Courts instructions to develop cooperation with related organizations in order to provide leading and globally distinguished judicial services.

It gives me great pleasure to welcome all participants interested in justice, judiciary and judgments execution. Participants are from numerous full membership countries in the International Union of Judicial Officers, which include 93 countries as full members and 6 countries as observer members.

We are all proud, on official and local level, to host this gathering in Dubai for the first time in the region of Middle East and North Africa.

The trust given by the Board of Directors and Members of the UIHJ to Dubai Courts to host this global event is highly appreciated. The Congress shall be held during the period from 22 to 25 November 2021. Through this Congress, new and fast ways to knowledgeable future will be opened which will be full of opportunities.

The future will highly depend on knowledge to develop and progress in the field of judgments enforcement and support to judicial institutions. Our hope is to find new means so that our world becomes equitable and better place, and to provide to the members of our communities all that the future can provide of ambitions and hopes that contribute to protection of their rights and develop their faith in justice.

I wish everybody success and progress in this Congress and we hope that decisions and recommendations elevate to fulfill the huge responsibilities put on our shoulders to support ideas, projects and initiatives which help us to progress into more equitable world.

Marc Schmitz

President of UIHJ

Dubai is waiting for you!

 

The 24th International Congress of the UIHJ is on the starting blocks.

Having been rescheduled from March 2021 to the end of November 2021, UIHJ is looking forward with hope and optimism to the next incarnation of its International Congress.

The event, which only occurs every three years, constitutes a highlight in the professional life of the judicial officer and will be organized in Dubai.

UIHJ is very grateful for the successful partnership with the Dubai Courts, which will guarantee a smooth organization and comfortable stay for all participants.

The chosen topic of the Congress “CYBERJUSTICE, New Opportunities for the Judicial Officer” clearly defines the expectations of the profession.

The world is becoming digitized at the speed of light and the current COVID-19 pandemic is even speeding up that process. The judicial officer should consider the digital evolution in the judiciary, not only as a challenge but as an opportunity!  An opportunity to reinvent himself!

Digital enforcement and enforcement of digital assets will become common practice in the near future.  But so far, legislation is not keeping pace with the technical evolution!

There is a requirement to introduce rules concerning digital enforcement and enforcement of digital assets.  And these rules must be harmonized, right from the start on a worldwide level. Solutions on a state-level only, will not be sufficient. The digital world is cross-border.  For that reason, consideration of continental and even global harmonization is crucial.

Events like our 24th International Congress can play a central role in this development and generate further considerations. UIHJ can be one of the pioneers and take a leading role by drafting position papers and making recommendations in the field of digital enforcement.

The presentation of a Global Code of digital enforcement, during the 24th International Congress of the UIHJ in Dubai, could become a milestone in its history.  It will be THE opportunity for the UIHJ to distinguish itself and to inspire the creation of national legislation in the field of digital enforcement and which would be – right from the beginning – harmonized on a worldwide level.

Under the direction of David Walker, General Rapporteur of the Congress, a multitude of panelists and experts will contribute to the success of the event during a scientific program which will meet even the highest expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you to Dubai in November.

Dubai is waiting for you ….

 

Marc SCHMITZ

President of UIHJ

David Walker

General rapporteur of the Congress

It is a wonderful opportunity and privilege, to be appointed Rapporteur Général for the 24th UIHJ International Congress. Having been a Judicial Officer, in private practice in Scotland, for all my adult life, I have seen our profession deal with many challenges, be they domestic social problems, legislative or political issues. What I have found most remarkable, through my long association with UIHJ, is that I have never been alone, and the problems I have faced, have been similar if not identical to those of colleagues from all over the world. I have consistently found our global fraternity to be a real source of inspiration and motivation to succeed in my professional and private life.

It is, therefore, my great pleasure and welcome task, to work with President Marc Schmitz, our partners in Dubai Courts, and the rest of the Congress Organisation Team, to deliver an outstanding international Congress. As Rapporteur Général, it is my duty to ensure we provide you with a world-class venue, a fascinating and relevant scientific program, and of course a truly remarkable social and networking opportunity.

On the first count, my job has been made very easy by our colleagues in Dubai Courts, who have welcomed us to the UAE, specifically the city of Dubai which is easily one of the most dynamic and internationally accessible venues, for hosting such an event. The fact that our Congress coincides with the Dubai World Expo, makes this the perfect opportunity to visit this exciting and diverse city, where modern architecture, seamlessly integrates with a very rich and historic Arabic culture.

In terms of delivering a fascinating and relevant scientific program, again, you will not be disappointed. Our Congress Theme is:

Cyber Justice, New Opportunities for the Judicial Officer…

Under this mantra, we will explore how our profession has responded to the global COVID19 pandemic, by highlighting innovative best practices and how we have supported fair and effective justice, during this unprecedented international crisis.

We are already aware, that in many jurisdictions, civil and criminal justice systems have been forced to react by accelerating their justice digitization programs. We have seen emergency legislation to enable more effective online communication between courts and stakeholders. We have even seen a revolution in home working, which is unlikely to be reversed after the world returns to the new normal.

We will also focus on the impact of new, smart technologies which are developing so fast, that domestic legal systems are being left behind, specifically in relation to the cross-border claims and the invisible nature of digital assets.

Here, we will explore how Judicial Officers can best react, by better understanding emerging technologies such as Blockchain, Cryptocurrency, and other such technologies.

We will then go full circle, by returning to the human aspect of future enforcement, by identifying the key skills and attributes of the modern Judicial Officer, remembering that whilst more sophisticated IT systems will play an important role, by removing simple, repetitive processing and decision making. At, at some point, we will still need a technical expert with professional standards, human empathy, and genuine determination, to ensure that court judgments are properly enforced.

This blend of practical, futuristic, and human elements, will collectively deliver a diverse and fascinating scientific program, which will help you better understand and prepare for the challenges ahead, regardless of your location, function, or business environment.

Last but not least, we will deliver an unforgettable cultural and social experience. Dubai has now positioned itself as a worldwide superpower for tourism. The leisure options are quite literally breath-taking, and we will ensure that our Congress provides the ideal opportunity to experience many of Dubai’s exciting leisure opportunities, including a spectacular welcome party and gala night.

Looking ahead to November, we are quietly confident that the worst of the COVID nightmare, will soon be behind us. After a year of uncertainty, self-isolation, and imposed international travel restrictions, now is the time to look forward with a sense of hope and optimism. What better way to move on from this most unwelcome sabbatical, by coming together in our unique global forum.

On behalf of UIHJ Congress Team, I look forward to welcoming you to Dubai for what I am certain will be an outstanding international, scientific and cultural event.